Northern Ag Network
Northern Ag Network
Northern Broadcasting System    Northern News Network    Northern Sports Network
Search This Site...
Search This Site...

Giving Thanks for America's Bounty

11/27/2015 7:00:00 AM
As we gather with our families and friends to celebrate our many blessings, it is fitting to also recognize the farmers and ranchers who provided the food on our tables. >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

WOTUS Rule is Broken; Need for Congress to Intervene

11/18/2015 8:37:00 AM
“The court has indicated the rule will likely be found to be illegal, but it could take years before that is finished,” >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

U.S. Rural Areas Need Broadband

11/16/2015 9:45:00 AM
Farmers and ranchers are eager to unlock the full potential of  new technologies, but many are still without the broadband service needed to make many of them practical. >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

TPP Will Worsen Cattle and Sheep Price Volatility

11/9/2015 1:23:00 PM
The TPP is yet another license that gives multinational meatpackers the ability to control both the live cattle and live sheep production chains. >> Read More
Article rating: 5.0

5 Things Ag is Doing Wrong (and How to Correct Them)

11/6/2015 12:23:00 PM
When it comes to new machinery, new cropping methods or new herbicides and pesticides, farmers and ranchers are on top of their game. Communicating with the public is another story.  >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Death by a Thousand Cuts

11/3/2015 10:15:00 AM

NFU Calls Yet Another Approval of Massive Meat Industry Acquisition ‘Death by a Thousand Cuts’ for Family Farmers and Ranchers

>> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Farmers Pay the Cost of 'Free' Trade

10/26/2015 1:43:00 PM
The Trans Pacific trade pact promises us cheaper food with sketchier ingredients. American farmers will face upheaval and more dislocation, while corporate agriculture thrives. >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Time for Ag Groups to Stand Up for U.S. Cattle Producers

10/22/2015 2:51:00 PM

"Anything less than preserving mandatory COOL for U.S. farmers and ranchers will harm the economic viability of our independent nation's producers."

>> Read More
Article rating: 5.0

Local Efforts Protect Species and Respect Landowners

10/15/2015 6:10:00 PM
It’s time for the federal government to give credit where it’s due and reward the hard work private businesses and landowners are putting into conservation efforts. >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Perception vs. Reality: The Risk from Glyphosate

10/15/2015 12:48:00 PM
"We have a baby here, and we have bathwater. We have to learn to tell the difference." >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Big Ag Does Not Equal Bad Ag

10/9/2015 12:08:00 PM

One of the oldest, most annoying arguments against agriculture, in general and in my opinion, could be called the “Big Ag” debate.  What exactly does "Big Ag" look like?

>> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Cattle Producers Stand with Manufacturers and Workers to Oppose TPP

10/6/2015 9:48:00 AM

"TPP follows the same blueprint as the free trade agreements we already have with 20 countries and those agreements resulted in a $2.3 billion deficit in the trade of cattle."

>> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Celebrate Sheep – and Books, Too

10/1/2015 2:28:00 PM
A neighbor caught my attention a couple of years ago when he said “You know, Lisa, if you would fix your fence, you wouldn’t have anything to write about.” >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Currency Manipulation: The New “Best Gimmick” for Skirting Trade Agreements

9/26/2015 6:00:00 AM
Currency manipulation has become our trade competitors’ favorite ‘best gimmick’ for skirting these massive trade deals as soon as they sign them. >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

NFU Guest Commentary: Cooperatives Are the Organization’s North Star

9/25/2015 9:41:00 AM
“At NFU, cooperatives are not just considered a smart business idea; they are actually a founding principle that goes right to the heart of who we are and where we came from as an organization,”  >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

Hitting the Brick Wall

9/24/2015 2:24:00 PM

The late-summer/early fall cattle market is the most ruinous period seen since the first half of 2004 when the shockwave of BSE violently ripped country equity.

>> Read More
Article rating: No rating

USDA Proposes Allowing Fresh Beef Imports from Africa

9/20/2015 6:00:00 AM
USDA Searches Globe for Cheap Beef While Congress Works to Ensure it Remains Undifferentiated in the U.S. Market >> Read More
Article rating: 5.0

USDA, DOI, and OMB Urge Congress to Fix the Fire Budget

9/15/2015 2:24:00 PM

"Restoring resilient forests helps to protect against future fire outbreaks and is vital to minimizing long-term costs to lives, private and public properties, and to struggling rural economies."

>> Read More
Article rating: No rating

NFU Supports CRP Enhancements

9/11/2015 12:29:00 PM
 “The CRP program not only benefits the environment, but it also adds substantially to U.S. and international food security by safeguarding land that can be used in emergency circumstances.” >> Read More
Article rating: No rating

As Crop Prices Drop, Producer Resiliency and Farm Programs to Be Tested

9/3/2015 1:18:00 PM
While there is always anxiety and hardship that come with lower prices, there is an additional layer of anxiety resulting from new federal programs under the 2014 Farm Bill. >> Read More
Article rating: No rating
«December 2015»