American Agri-Women Announce “Champion of Agriculture”



American Agri-Women Recognizes Rep. Mike Conaway of Texas as a 2015 'Champion of Agriculture”



American Agri-Women recently presented Rep. Mike Conaway of Texas with its 2015 Champion of Agriculture award. Rep. Conaway (center) is shown with members of Texas Agri-Women, a state affiliate of AAW. From left is Colleen Richter, Merlynn Verstuyft, Melody Speer and Denise Gentsch.

MARS HILL, Maine  (AgPR), – American Agri-Women (AAW) recently presented Rep. Mike Conaway of Texas with its “Champion of Agriculture” award as part of its 2015 Fly-In to Washington, D.C.

AAW is the nation’s largest coalition of farm, ranch and agribusiness women and is celebrating its 40th anniversary. The award is presented annually to outstanding members of U.S. Congress for their steadfast courage in upholding the ideals of American agriculture to their peers.

Conaway has served in the U.S. House since 2003 representing a rural West Texas district. He is a strong proponent of the ag industry and supports AAW positions on the “death tax,” the “Waters of the U.S. rule” of the Clean Water Act as well as private property and water rights.

Conaway serves as chair of the House Committee on Agriculture. He serves on the House Armed Services Committee and the Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence. He is also a member of the Armed Services Subcommittees on Oversight and Investigations; Seapower and Projection Forces; and the Intelligence Subcommittees on National Security Agency and Cybersecurity; and CIA.

“Rep. Conaway works to ensure that farmers and ranchers are supported, not hindered, by the federal government.
He also works to reduce the regulatory overreach of agencies such as the EPA that adversely affects farmers’ and ranchers’ ability to produce food,” says AAW President Sue McCrum, who is part of a fifth generation family farm in Maine. “We are pleased to thank him for his support for him by recognizing him as a 2015 Champion of Agriculture.”

AAW also awarded Senator John Hoeven with its 2015 Champion of Agriculture award. Past recipients include Rep. Frank Lucas of Oklahoma, Sen. Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, Sen. Susan Collins of Maine, Sen. John Thune of South Dakota, Sen. Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, Rep. Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming, Rep. Dennis Cardoza of California, Sen. Pat Roberts of Kansas, Rep. Collin Peterson of Minnesota and Sen. James Inhofe of Oklahoma.

About American Agri-Women

American Agri-Women promotes the welfare of our national security through a safe and reliable food, fiber and mineral supply. Since 1974, AAW members have worked together to educate consumers; advocate for agriculture; and offer networking and professional development opportunities. Go to the AAW web site for more information and to join, Find AAW on social media at: and (@Women4Ag).

AAW is celebrating its 40th anniversary with a “Drive Across America,” a five-month education and advocacy tour. Follow the event on AAW’s Facebook page or on Twitter, #DriveAcrossAmerica, #AAW40years.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x