Governor Schweitzer Requests Disaster Declaration


Montana Governor Brian Schweitzer sent a letter to Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today requesting natural disaster determinations for eight counties and one reservation.  They are Stillwater, Carter, Yellowstone, Powder River, Custer, Treasure, Fallon, and Rosebud as well as the Northern Cheyenne Reservation.

In his request, the governor cites not only a lack of moisture this winter, but also high winds, soil erosion, and insect infestation.

CLICK HERE to read his letter.


© Northern Ag Network 2012

Haylie Shipp

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
* By using the Northern Ag Network comment form, you agree to your email being collected for use on Northern Ag Network related projects, newsletters, and other content. We do not, and will not, sell your information.