Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame to Honor Inductees



The Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center (MCHF & WHC) extends an invitation to all to attend the 10th Annual Circle the Wagons Convention in Great Falls, Feb. 5 & 6 at the Best Western Heritage Inn.


“We are excited to be celebrating our 10th Anniversary of inductions into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame,” said MCHF & WHC Executive Director Christy Stensland. “It is an honor to celebrate those whose examples embody the qualities of our Montana communities and way of life.  If you are proud of your Montana Western heritage and wish to help preserve and pass it on to the next generation, we invite you to join us in Great Falls for this special event.”


The weekend will kick off Friday evening, Feb. 5 with a free Welcome Gathering. The Inductee Recognition Ceremony Brunch will be held on Saturday, Feb. 6 at 10:30 a.m. to celebrate the notable accomplishments and lasting legacies of the inductees to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame Class of 2015. Tickets are $30 per person. Early registration is recommended as this event sells out well in advance each year!


The 10th Annual Cowboy Ball and Benefit Auction will kick off at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday with a social hour and auction preview. This event will feature great Western music by World Livestock Auctioneer Champion Kyle Shobe and his band The Walk ‘Em Boys. There will be both a silent and live auction featuring unique and Western items. A Chuckwagon Buffet dinner will be served. Tickets to the Cowboy Ball are $75 per person or $570 for an eight-person table.


Register online at, by calling (406) 653-3800, or email Rooms may be reserved at the Best Western Heritage Inn by calling (406) 761-1900.


The 2015 inductees into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame are:

District 1 (Daniels, Phillips, Roosevelt, Sheridan, & Valley Counties): Living Award – Miles “Bud” Geer, Nashua. Legacy Award – Circle C Ranch, Zortman and Montie Montana, Wolf Point.

District 2 (Dawson, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, & Wibaux Counties): Living Award – Marvin K. Ley, Glendive. Legacy Award – C.A. “Bud” Kramer, Jordan and Chappel Brothers Corporation (CBC’s), Prairie Elk.

District 3 (Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud, & Treasure Counties): Living Award – Jack L. “Slug” Mills, Boyes (tie) and Doug Wall, Miles City (tie). Legacy Award – Charles G. Patten, Broadus and Manly Anderson Moore, Sr., Broadus.

District 4 (Blaine, Chouteau, Hill, & Liberty Counties): Living Award – Robert “Bud” Boyce, Big Sandy. Legacy Award – Larry Kane, Big Sandy and Harry Stuart Green, Big Sandy (tie) and Miller Brothers Land and Livestock, Chinook (tie).

District 5 (Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton, & Toole Counties): Living Award – Jay Joseph Contway, Great Falls. Legacy Award – Alfred Bertram “Bud” Guthrie, Jr., Choteau and Mary “Stagecoach Mary” Fields, Cascade (tie) and Doctor Ernest Bigalow Maynard, Choteau (tie).

District 6 (Fergus, Golden Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, & Wheatland Counties): Living Award – Eldon H. Snyder, Lewistown. Legacy Award – Montana Cowboy Poetry Gathering and Western Music Rendezvous, Lewistown and Merle J. Boyce, Winifred.

District 7 (Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, & Yellowstone Counties): Living Award – Henry Albert “Hank” Scobee, Hardin. Legacy Award – Malcolm S. Mackay, Roscoe and Charlotte “Rusty” Linderman Spaulding, Belfry.

District 8 (Broadwater, Jefferson, & Lewis and Clark Counties): Living Award – Joseph W. “Joe” Enger, Helena. Legacy Award – Auchard Creek School, Augusta.

District 9 (Gallatin, Meagher, & Park Counties): Legacy Award – Robert “Bob” Shiplet, Clyde Park and Thomas R. “Tom” Hunter, Clyde Park (tie) and Robert Anderson “Bob” Haugland, Belgrade (tie).

District 10 (Flathead, Lake, Lincoln, & Sanders Counties): Living Award – Richard B. “Dick” & Patricia B. “Tricia” Vinson, Thompson Falls. Legacy Award – C.R. Williams, Kalispell.

District 11 (Mineral, Missoula, & Ravalli Counties): Living Award – Frank R. Mason, Jr., Corvallis. Legacy Award – Vernon Woolsey, Stevensville and Clarence Barron “C.B.” Rich, Seeley Lake.

District 12 (Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Silver Bow, Granite, Madison, & Powell Counties): Living Award (three-way tie) Edward Francis “Butch” O’Connell, Butte, “Gunner” Gun Again, Dillon, and John W. “Jack” Briggs, Dell. Legacy Award – Melvin R. Icenoggle, Ennis.

Since the initial round of inductions to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2008, including this year’s inductions, 240 inductees have been honored. Full biographies for past inductees are available on the MCHF & WHC’s website,

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x