Nominations Open for MT Cowboy Hall of Fame



The Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center (MCHF&WHC) is seeking nominations for the 2011 Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame induction round. This will mark the first year the MCHF&WHC will induct living historical figures that made an impact on Montana’s Western Heritage before 1960. The MCHF&WHC will also continue with its “Legacy Inductions” for the fourth year, honoring those historical figures that have had an impact on Montana’s Western heritage in the years 1860 to 1960. Anyone with an interest in Montana’s history and Western heritage is invited to submit a nomination.

Nominees can be men, women, ranches, stage coach lines, animals, hotels, etc.,—in other words, anything or anyone who made their mark in the state of Montana before 1960, no matter the year of death or closure. Past inductees have included Sitting Bull, Evelyn Cameron, the N Bar N Ranch, Charles M. Russell, Plenty Coups, Granville Stuart, Nelson Story, the Grant-Kohrs Ranch, Alice Greenough, the Montana Stockgrowers Association, Fannie Sperry Steele, Frank Bird Linderman and the Vigilantes of Montana. Full biographies of all inductees from 2008-2010 are available online at

If you are interested in making a nomination please contact Christy Stensland at the MCHF&WHC Tack Room office at (406) 653-3800 and request a nomination submission packet.  All nomination documents must be postmarked by December 15, 2010 to be included in this year’s slate of nominations.


The 2011 Class of Inductees will be determined by a vote of the Trustees from each of the twelve Districts that represent the entire state of Montana.  The Trustees representing their respective Districts will vote on those nominations brought forward from their District.  The Trustees will choose one “Legacy Inductee” and one inductee that is still living.  (Go to the MCHF&WHC website for a list of the Trustees and a map of the twelve Districts of the MCHF&WHC.) The 2011 Class of the MCHF&WHC will be announced by press release in June of 2011. Next of kin or an establishment representing the award recipient will receive a MCHF&WHC certificate and will be invited to be recognized at the next Annual “Circle the Wagons” Gathering.



Source: Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center

Posted by Kaci Switzer

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x