North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame Celebrates Ranching and Western Lifestyle


In its 25th year honoring individuals, ranches, livestock and organizations that have made significant contributions to the development and promotion of North Dakota’s livestock industry, ranching, or western lifestyle, the North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the 2019 Class of Inductees:



Charles Franklin Martell, Pre-1940s Ranching

Gerald Effertz, Modern-era Ranching

Gary Graham, Pre-1970s Rodeo

Darrell Hermanson, Modern-era Rodeo

Bob J. Hansen, Modern-era Rodeo

Walter Piehl, Jr., Western Arts & Entertainment

Kaye Nelson, Legacy Award


Formal recognition for this year’s inductees will commence Friday, June 14th, with a dinner celebration at the North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame in Medora. The induction award ceremony follows at 1:00pm on Saturday, June 15th, at Tjaden Terrace in Medora and is open to the public.  Taylor Brown, broadcaster and owner of Northern Broadcasting, will be the featured Guest Speaker.

This year’s inductees were named publicly for the first time on Saturday, May 11, at the annual NDCHF Season Premiere, in connection with the revealing of the newly renovated Hall of Honorees.  In addition to an updated look, the room now boasts a 55” touch screen kiosk in a custom cabinet laser-branded with the North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame insignia.  The user-friendly kiosk contains the photographs and biographies of every North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame inductee, and allows the ongoing addition of inductees for years to come.

The North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame is now open for the 2019 Season.



Tess Howie-2019-North Dakota Cowboy Hall of Fame

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x