Wheat Growers Name Montana Senator Daines Wheat Leader and Senator Tester Wheat Advocate of the Year


Great Falls –Today, the Montana Grain Growers Association (MGGA) joined with the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) in officially recognizing Senator Steve Daines as NAWG's 2018 Wheat Leader of the Year and Senator Jon Tester as a 2018 Wheat Advocate.

The Wheat Leader of the Year Award is given annually by NAWG to one member of Congress, regardless of party affiliation, whose philosophy and records demonstrate their commitment to the well being of America’s wheat farmers. It is the wheat industry’s highest legislative award.

(MGGA President Michelle Jones, NAWG President Gordon Stoner and Sen. Steve Daines)

The Wheat Advocate Award is given annually to a select number of Members of Congress who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm.

(MGGA President Michelle Jones and Sen. Jon Tester)

In nominating both Senators, MGGA noted Senator Daines' pursuit of a seat on the Senate Ag Committee, his organizing and hosting the Montana Ag Summit where Montana leaders had the opportunity to meet with USDA Secretary Sonny Purdue and Senate Ag Chairman Pat Roberts, along with the Senator's strong efforts to expand foreign markets for Montana grown commodities.

Senator Tester was honored for his efforts on seeking assistance for producers affected by this year's drought, his work to eliminate unfair Canadian trade practices and for reaching out to growers at listening sessions held around the state.

MGGA President Michelle Jones said, “We are thrilled to present our Senators with these awards and we are proud to honor and highlight their work on behalf of our producers.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x