Wyoming Bean Commission Meeting, Wyoming


Wyoming Bean Commission to Meet on Video Conference

CHEYENNE (4/13/16) – The Wyoming Bean Commission is scheduled to meet on Monday, April 18, 2016 via video conference.

The meeting video conference will take place in Powell, Laramie and Torrington and will start at 8:00 a.m. During the meeting, the Wyoming Bean Commission will discuss Specialty Crop Grant application, adoption of the Wyoming Bean Commission indirect costs policy, approval of the Bean Commission contract with UW Extension Research Projects, Dry Bean Consortium funding, and the Wyoming Bean Commission rules. Along with this, they will discuss a facility audit with Dale Heggem, a letter from Grower Harrison, promotion of the Commission, and any other needed business. The meeting is open to the public and there will be a time for public comment.  

The members of the Wyoming Bean Commission are Jeffery Chapman (handler) of Goshen County, Beau Fulton (grower) of Park County, Jerrod Lind (grower) of Platte County, Pascual Aguilar (grower) of Big Horn County, Wayne Hort (grower) of Goshen County, Lynn Preator (handler/bean dealer) of Big Horn County, and Hank Uhden (ex-officio member from the Wyoming Department of Agriculture).

The Bean Commission established by Senate File 42 is comprised of six members initially appointed by the Governor. Four members are growers, and two members are handlers with facilities located in Wyoming. One member must reside in Laramie, Platte or Goshen County, Wyoming.  The Bean Commission is funded through assessments collected on dry bean sales and is housed within the Wyoming Department of Agriculture. The commission will meet no less than two times each year and will keep a permanent record of its proceedings and report its activities to the Governor and Joint Agriculture, State and Public Lands, and Water Resources interim committee. Along with this, the commission may conduct or contract scientific research,  disseminate information on dry edible beans based on research, study state and federal legislation with respect to matters concerning the dry edible bean industry, appoint advisory groups, make grants to research agencies for financing special or emergency studies, and a variety of other activates.

The meeting can be attended in Laramie at the University of Wyoming in room AG C137, in Powell at Northwest College room ORB 137, or in Torrington at Easter Wyoming College in room Tebbet 252. For more information on the Wyoming Bean Commission, contact the Wyoming Department of Agriculture at 307-777-7321.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, special assistance or alternate formats will be made available for individuals with disabilities upon request in advance of the meeting.

Source:  Wyoming Department of Agriculture


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x