Jake and Jessica Hahn (Lovell), Pete Olsen (Molt), and Josh Bilbrey (Wolf Point) made up the team that took first place at the 2015 Custer Ranch Rodeo.  The team was sponsored by the Montana Ranch Horse Association, and will now advance to the NILE Championship Ranch Rodeo in Billings in October.

At the annual Custer Ranch Rodeo, teams of cowboys and cowgirls compete in team penning, branding, wild cow milking, doctoring, and trailer race events.  Judges officiate the ranch rodeo and also select recipients for special awards.  Reuben Busenitz (Busby) earned top cowboy honors this year, while Rachel Mitchell (Bighorn) took home the award for top cowgirl.  Jay Blankenship (Rosebud) rode the top horse.


Custer Ranch Rodeo, Inc. also presents a Short Ranch Rodeo for contestants age 15 and under (this year’s winning team:  Will Roen and Jocie Roen of Musselshell and Garrett Severe of Melstone) and the Stockman Bank Open Ranch Bronc Ride (this year’s winner:  Tanner Burgess of Grass Range).

In the past nine years the Custer Ranch Rodeo has given more than $20,000 to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center and upwards of $11,000 to help with the rebuilding of the Custer Arena.  Each year the Custer Ranch Rodeo presents a Heroes & Friends Award to individuals who have supported the event since its start in 2007, and this year that award went to Lee and Marion Perrin of Custer, long-time members of the Custer Rodeo Club.



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x